Decorating for Christmas

I really did not feel like decorating for Christmas this year because of everything that has happened recently so we kept it rather simple this year.

100_6734

I decided to unpack my mother’s Christmas houses and display them.

100_6731

The Halloween witch has been on display for the last year. She reminds us all of my Aunt  so we named her Clara and she greets all who arrive with a tray of goodies. Last year we put a Santa costume on her. This year I am looking for a long red cape for her and  a red bonnet if I can find one.

 

100_6736

Usually I add garland on the mantle but it was in rather bad shape so I just hang the stockings for now.

100_6737

The tree is very simple this year as I just didn’t feel like unpacking all the ornaments, A few blue ornaments but mostly while snowmen, Santa’s, and angles with silver trim.

100_6735The stairway holds stocking that are usually filled with little gifts to hand guest during the season. This year I think they will hold gifts for the birds, snake and cats. Shoes stocking is hung by the fireplace with the rest of the family’s.

Outdoors I changed the orange lights for cool white which will stay up all year or at least until Halloween. The lights add a nice glow to the back porch and patio area.

I have a huge snowmen collection that I love but if I put them out it will be after the cold weather sets in and not before.

 

 

Leave a comment