Painting Terra cotta pots

013

I made this Topsy -Turvy  Planter back in April 2014 .I liked the way it looked in this location but the plants had a hard time living since they would dry out too quickly. Recently we added a new patio and I moved this planter to a new area.

100_6997Notice the problem! The planter blended in with the wall and could not be seen. My solution was to paint the flower pots but first I had to clean them which took a good week.

After cleaning the pots and allowing them to dry completely I sprayed them inside and out with a clear finish to keep the moisture inside the pot.

100_7076

The pots sprayed are the shiny ones the two larger pots are what they looked like before being sprayed.

100_7034I waited a full day before spraying the pots a gloss white color. I sprayed the entire outside and at least an inch down from the rim on the inside. Wait for them to dry completely.

100_7084I gave the pots a second coat of paint and waited a full day before painting the rims.with Apple Barrel Multi-purpose paint in Electric blue. I found that a foam brush worked best and I give them two coats.

100_7088 I waited two days before I stenciled the rims because I used Folk Art peel & stick stencils and  wanted the rims to have a chance to cure a little before applying the stickers.

100_7098I really love these stencils! They can be reused up to a least 20 times and clean with soap and water. I used Apple Barrel multi-purpose paint in black and a small round brush to stencil the names of the herbs onto the rims. Load the brush with paint and dab the brush onto a paper towel before dabbing the stencil. Remove the stencil while the paint is still wet and allow it to dry.

After another 24 hours I sprayed the pots again with a clear finish to protect the paint job. The hardest part of this project was the wait time but it is also the most important part. Everything must be completely dry before going to the next step and this was the hardest wait of all – the pots needed to cure for 48 hours before adding the soil and plants but the finally results turned out wonderfully.

100_7099The plants are small and I just sowed the thyme and chives into the pots. I had planned on dividing a clump of chives from the garden but it turned out to be harder than I imagined so I took the easy route and sowed more seeds.  Now to get the rock mulch laid.

Leave a comment