Feeding the birds

100_7109We,well I am not certain how I want to finish this side of our new path but I do know this is the perfect place for my bird feeders. The feeders are high enough so the cats can not jump up into them and they are in an open area which allows the birds a good view of where the cats are. The shrubs are close enough to act as a landing-place without acting as a springboard for the cats and we can watch the birds from the patio and the house.

I include both liquid hummingbird food as well as natural flowers on two of the post. The other two post (one not pictured)  house seed feeders with suet cakes, I feed the wild birds all year not just in the winter and I also supply birdhouses year around.

My theory is a well fed bird will not eat the fruit of my garden but they will and do eat the bugs which provide them with much-needed protein. So far this has been a win win solution.

I usually put the hummingbird feeders out when I see the first hummer which happened this week. I start the season out with commercial nectar which is a bright red color and has a balanced formula of supplements and vitamins because the birds have just finished their long migration and need the extra food since flying insects and blooming flowers are few and far in between. As summer approaches and the birds know were the feeders are and bugs and flowers are plentiful  I change to my DIY formula.  I mix one part ordinary white cane sugar with four parts water. You do not need to boil the mixture however the sugar will dissolve better in hot water.  Any unused syrup should be kept in the refrigerator for up to two weeks.  Do not add honey, brown sugar, jello, fruit, sugar substitutes, or red food coloring to the mixture.

If you do not plan on keeping the feeder clean then don’t even get one.  The hummingbirds will starve before they will use a dirty feeder. Also do not get a feeder if you are afraid of birds because hummers are not shy and will fly up to your face to let you know that the feeder is empty. One of the reason I moved the feeders  away from the outdoor dinning area!

Your feeder should be flushed out with hot water every time you fill it. It should be emptied and cleaned if the solution turns cloudy. Do not use soap to clean the feeder. Check for black mold and clean with a solution of 1/4 cup plain bleach to one gallon of water. Soak feeder for  one hour before rinsing well under running water.  Full strength white vinegar can be used in place of the bleach water. This should be done once a month during the summer to prevent mold.

Be prepared to change the sugar-water mixture  at least every six days and more often during hot weather. Usually I don’t have this problem because the birds have them drained well before the sixth days.

Leave a comment