High Fiber Vegetable Soup

I love soup – not the canned stuff – but real soup that has been simmering on the back burner and is full of rich favors. It is filling and full of nutrients so I am always looking for new soup recipes.

This vegetarian recipe makes 12 servings which freezes well and is good reheated as left overs.

High fiber vegetable soup 001

Photo by Kathryn L. Jarvis

Ingredients:

2 cups chopped bell pepper ( green peppers are cheaper)

2 cups chopped onion

2 tablespoons olive oil

6 cups water

4 cups vegetable broth

4 cups tomatoes

2 tablespoons lemon juice

2 cups diced carrots

1 cup corn

2 cups green beans

1 cup chopped cabbage

2 cups chopped celery

1 cup diced yellow squash

1 large potato, diced

1 bay leaf

2 teaspoons marjoram

1 teaspoon thyme

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper

1/2 cup minced parsley

1 cup pearl barley

In a large pot, saute bell pepper and onion in oil for about 2 to 3 minutes. Add water, broth, tomatoes, lemon juice, all vegetables and all spices.  Bring to a low boil, reduce to simmer. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes. Add barley and simmer 40 to 60 minutes longer. Remove bay leaf before serving.

Note: I used a package of frozen green beans,carrots,celery and corn mixture in this recipe.

Calories – 247

High fiber vegetable soup

Photo by Kathryn L. Jarvis

Usually I do chores on Friday but today was spent at my husband’s Retirement party  We had a wonderful time and I really appreciate all the work that went into the event. Thanks every one especially Dee.

Bill's Retirement Party 021

 

 

organized-home-challenge-ad-button-2

De-clutter old computer and printer equipment. I have done very well with this one because not to long ago I had seven computers and six printers.  At the moment I still have four computers and five printers not counting notebooks, laptops and readers. All but one computer and printer are being used – however I plan on slowly replacing the desktop computers with laptops. One thing that was keeping me from getting rid of the computers was that I was afraid that the information on them would fall into the wrong hands. I did a little research (have you noticed I do lots of research) and discovered that I should remove the hard drive from the tower before  recycling the computer. The hard drive can then be saved or better yet smashed either way your personal information is not unprotected.

One thought on “High Fiber Vegetable Soup

Leave a comment