Kitchenette, Laundry or Studio?

This room started out as the main kitchen almost forty years ago, than the washer and dryer were added. It even served as a nursery at one time, now it gets little kitchen action but lots of laundry and craft action. I had planned on working in this room after I finished the main closet and the studio bedroom but when the dryer stopped working plans changed.

Old dryer

Old dryer

We had to make a path though the garage so that the delivery men can get the old dryer out and the new one in. I managed to get this finished without getting caught up in cleaning the whole garage but I did get a bit cleaned. I can now get my garden cart back inside.

After moving out the old dryer to unplug it and disconnect the vent I had to start cleaning. The wall was not only dirty but was covered with black marks that would not wash off and the floor was covered in dirt.

I pulled out the washer and refrigerator and washed the walls and mopped the floors before getting out the Swiss Coffee paint and painting the wall.The refrigerator gave me a bit of a scare when it came off the roller and almost fell over, but I managed to get it back on track. Yes, the stove and refrigerator are green and almost forty years old

 

Painted wall

Painted wall

I will paint the walls over the kitchen cabinets later in the week. I had painted them a few years ago but I will repaint so that they match in color. (There is just a small difference and it is hard to tell were the two meet.) I would have liked to paint the wall today but as you can see I will have to move all the paint supplies to get to the wall.

Painting base camp

Painting base camp

The rolling shelves for clean folder clothes and the folding table will be moved back to where they belong after the new dryer is hooked up. I will re arrange some of the furniture and add a few signs when I get them made. (Winter projects). We plan on replacing the floor with tile once all the painting is finished. The cabinets now hold arts and craft supplies.

Home Depot did a great job delivering the new dryer!  Now to arrange the cement blocks into another raised garden bed before Bill gets back with the new power cord for the dryer. We were going to use the old cord until we looked it over and decided to get a new one. At least the vent is okay.

_____________________________________________________

unnamedDeclutter hobby and craft supplies

Leave a comment