Super Saturday

Yesterday was a wonderful busy day and we got a lot of things knocked off my to do  list.

I started out by cleaning both of the inside bird cages than out to clean the chicken coop. Next I cleaned the litter box in the garage and looked for my weed spray. I actually found three bottles of weed killer and sprayed around the parking area. Of course there wasn’t a cat to be seen when I started and after I sprayed I had to “cat set” until the spray was all dry. Since I had so many different bottles of weed killer I decided to look though my spray paint cans before buying paint for my next project.  Alas, no silver mirror paint.

No mosquitoes so it was a perfect day to finish gluing the “eye” stone. I had forgotten to cover it the night before and Garfield had messed up the background tiles. Thank goodness the rest was all ready glued in place.  It now has to set 24 hours before I can grout it. Another item to add to the shopping list.

I started on the last “planned” stone which is the cross. This is my first draft and I think it is ready to start gluing. I will add more of the small colorful gems while gluing.

I took a short break to relax in my new hammock chair. Oh, I could spend hours out there in that chair and hopefully I will as soon as I get the back porch cleaned and redecorated.

I sanded the kitchen table top and give it its third and final top coat of polyurethane.  If I give it any more coats I will need to wear solar glasses just to look at it.


While I was doing all that Bill replaced the ceiling fan in the studio. The lights worked but the fan stopped working and with out A/C  that room becomes very hot. I enjoy the heat but not when I am doing physical work like hand sanding a table. The old ceiling fan was the original one installed in 1978 so no shame in having to replace it. The new light only has three bulbs whereas the old one had five but it gives off enough to do my work.

He also repair the light in the ceiling fan in our front room. The fan worked but not the light. I was afraid we would have to replace the whole light part or maybe even the whole fan but we found the right repair part at Home Depot. Of course while we were getting that part I also got my paint and grout for my projects.

All in all it was a great day and I got to mark off 6 things from my list.

Leave a comment